Ruijin Hotel Shanghai
Taiyuan Villa (Ruijin Hotel Shanghai)
简体中文 | English
Home|Hotel Info|Guest Rooms|Restaurants|Villa|Weddings|Leisure|Other Facilities|Head Office|Contact Us
 
  • Hotel Info
  • Hotel History
  • Photo Album
  •  
    Hotel History
     
    The Benjamin Morris family estate, now the Ruijin Hotel, is comprised of four houses, numerous outbuildings and ornate gardens covering almost 100 acres. One of the earliest"Temples" in Shanghai is located on the grounds. On the vast lawn of Building Number 1, history buffs can find "the original Archway entrance to the Temple along with the Stone Lions that guarded the entrance"

    The Morris family owned the North China Daily News, the oldest English-language newspaper in China. They also bred racing dogs and owned "Canidrome" (a dog racing track) located just across the street at the rear of the property.

    Prior to opening its doors to the public, the hotel was the official guesthouse of the Shanghai regional government. The first mayor of Shanghai chose the Ruijin as both his office and residence. It accommodated Party Leaders, Liu Shao Qi, Zhu De, Dong Bi Wu, Zhou En Lai and others. Leaders of many countries also stayed here: President Soekarno of Indonesia, the Prime Minister of India, President Ho Chi Min of Vietnam, President Jin Ri Chen of the Republic of Korea, US President Nixon, as well as other government emissaries. In 1979, the Shanghai municipal government decided to open the hotel to the public. Since that time the hotel has hosted many famous scholars, business leaders, and tourists from all over the world.

    Visitors can enjoy the wonderful history and unique combination of British and Chinese design elements at the Ruijin Hotel.

    History of Building No. 1

    Building Number 1 was built in the 1920s by Mr. Benjamin Morris, a British businessman who owned the local dog-racing track.

    It was converted into the headquarters of the Kuomintang's Li Zhi She in 1945. Madame Song Mei Ling also had her own favorite room in the building.

    After Liberation in 1949 the building was taken over by the East China Bureau of the Communist Party. The first Mayor of Shanghai, Mr. Chen Yi used the building as his official office and residence during his term.

    Many wonderful photo opportunities exist within the entrance and lobby of the building including; The grand oak staircase, marble columns and flooring and the oak paneled walls of the entire ground floor. Most of Building Number One's rooms have a plaque outside showing the names of the famous individuals who have stayed in them.

    History of Building No. 3

    Many heads of state and other political leaders preferred to stay in this building because of its unique architecture and view of the beautiful lawn. Building Number 3 also boasts stately marble columns and the most photographed stained glass windows in Shanghai.

    "Foreign Shanghailanders" frequented it, a gambling area was located on the first floor of the building. The proceeds were shared between Shun Laosun, the then owner of the building, and the Japanese army.

    History of Building No. 4
    Building Number 4 was built in 1930 by the Japanese company "Mituyi group" to serve as their South China regional office. When war broke out between the Chinese and Japanese, the building was taken over by the Japanese high command. At the end of the war the Kuomintang government took the building back from the Japanese.

    After liberation in 1949, the building was taken over by the East China Bureau of the Communist Party. It is said that the ashes of Deng Xiao Ping's fist wife were scattered in the garden of this building.

    Face bar

    Face Bar, the very famous and popular bar located in Building Number 4, creates the sense of a caravanserai, a place where people socialize in the great tradition of resting places for traders along the silk road. Though he camel has given way to the boat, train, plane, and car, the needs of travelers do not change. A warm welcome, a secure stopping place, and the opportunity to talk, relax, and drink with friends and fellow traders still draws people here from far and wide. Face Bar is filled with many unique cultural artifacts which are predominantly Chinese, including raised Chinese beds, as an inn on the silk route would have, but undoubtedly more luxurious.

    http://www.facebars.com/
     
     

    Copyright © Ruijin Hotel Shanghai All Rights Reserved.  Powered by DerbySoft Ltd. 
    Recommand you to use the Internet Explorer Version 5.5 and above browsers